Saturday Morning News Bites

Another week gone by, and there was even some rain in the mix! If you’re up Saturday morning and looking for some light weekend reading, here are a few locally-focused links that caught my attention this week. Hopefully you’re alert and ready for the day, unlike Benny here.

photo-4

The Ritzy Dispatch launched this week, a satirical take our city and news related to it. It never really occurred to me that there was THIS much about LA to poke fun at. Add them to your reader for a great laugh daily.

The debate on LA neighborhood pronunciations raged high this week. Once the LA Times covered it, dozens of other local news outlets drafted their own versions. I say Los Angeles the anglicized way, for sure. But I don’t say “Los FEE-lez,” I go with the Spanish “Los Feh-LEEZ.” So there. I can’t be labeled.

I found LA Weekly’s piece about the revitalization of DTLA’s Arts District so fascinating. It’s amazing what one dude with a vision (and some serious influence) can do for an area that was basically no-mans land just awhile back. I predict a Cafe Gratitude moves in next. (I can’t WAIT until this happens in my ‘hood. Perhaps I’ll be the Tyler Stonebreaker of Mid-City one day.)

Food GPS posted a Top 16 Cookies in LA list, yum. I don’t think I’ve tried ONE SINGLE COOKIE on there– totally bonkers. Now we all have a quick reference when we’re in the mood for something sweet.

There are too many pot shops in LA  in my opinion. I read this KCRW piece about the relevant propositions to be voted on in the upcoming election; Prop D limits the number of shops (t0 135), but I see how this could lead to Wal-Mart sized pot shops and having  few people control the whole market (a situation bound to go sour). Prop F doesn’t limit the number, but says it will keep the shops away from parks, schools, etc. More research needed before I vote for either, I guess.

Happy reading (and thinking)!

Leave a Reply

